This may bust the cheap intercom idea wide open DECT headsets

jtweigandt

At our community theatre, I graduated from FRS radios to a Mumble server on a booth computer, and 2 mumble clients running on 50 buck thin clients on Stage Right and Stage Left All three use logitech wireless bluetooth headsets at about 60 bucks a pop. Wifi to phones/mumble client is available, and we used it during "Into the woods" when we had multiple crew/moving tree ballet.

More or less bullet proof, high quality full duplex sound. Drawback is that the bluetooth drops out about 40 feet out, or offstage/backstage. Wifi signal is good onstage, but other places will drop out.

Sooo. I was looking at headset alternatives. I use DECT technology ATT phones at work.. cordless.. ultra clear.. and loooonnng roaming from the base. My office even has concrete block walls.

I fell upon DECT headsets for the pc. Sennheiser in particular has a DECT headset with about a 300 foot stated range. About 200 bucks a pop.. You have to make sure you order the one with the usb cable for pc. You get the phone quality DECT connection to the base.

NOW HERES THE KICKER. you can connect 4 of these headphones to the same DECT base.. like if you had a conference call in an office and needed 4 different cubicles on line talking at the same time to someone in timbuktu. So you plug the base into the PC.. but you don't really use the pc for communication between these 4.. they all talk through the DECT base.. other stations can be cut in via the mumble server if you need more than 4 or want a mix of wired and wireless . Latency on the primary 4 would be about zero.

In theory you could run just the 4 stations with the base plugged in to the pc and have a 4 station full duplex no software solution ... for 800 bucks.

Guess what... clearcom is apparently using DECT for their wireless belt packs now too.