Total newbie looking for some answers

EIZOZ

Hi everyone,

i'm totally new at all this DMX, lighting etc.. but i'm looking to learn enough to be able to set up my own fun lighting at home.

i've been searching various forums and website with not much luck in what i'm exactly looking for.

basically i'd like to find fairly cheap DMX RGB LED's, controller and software to set the mood in my living room and bedrooms. i've found Sunlite software which looks a bit too much for what i really need, but it has the brilliant touch panel which could be really cool to have. so if anyone had any alternatives i would appreciate the info.

apart from that i'm a little mixed up with all this talking about dimmers and controllers and the likes. they just confuse me. do i NEED to have dimmers connected to the array of DMX lights or is it one per "LED buld" or how does that work? and how do you connect the whole thing together? :S

basically what i want to do is have some RGB lights in the living room and bedrooms so i can set moods with the touch of a button, you know.. movie time, party time, romantic time.. etc..

any info would be greatly appreciated and the cheaper the hardware/software the better :) no need for super fancy stuff..

also if the lights could have the option of sound would be great for when party mode.

i hope i've explained myself well enough as i'm a little confused about all this myself hehehe

waiting for all you useful responses!

thanks

eizoz

you don't need dimmers with LEDs.

i would say you need...

a computer

lighting software (DMX lighting control software)

a USB to DMX interface (ENTTEC - Lighting Control,RDM,DMX USB PRO)

LED lights (duh)

something to hang the lights on (double duh)

safe grounded outlets to plug the lights into

DMX cable...starting at the interface and daisy chained from one light to the next

set up some looks in the software, and it's sexxy time or elegant dinner party time in no time