Touring and Gels

Lacey

I've been browsing CB for a couple of months, but this is my first thread here (so please bear with me!)

I am a complete Newbie when it comes to lighting design (so please excuse any verbiage mistakes, and feel free to correct them), but I will be going on my first 5 week tour with a 6 piece band in February/March. I will be traveling with 5 LED par cans (Blizzard Pucks) and my own board (Scene Setter 24) to use for uplighting.

My question is regarding color filters/gels. I have color choices in mind, but have no idea how many sheets to order of each individual color. There will be about 35 shows during this particular tour. So far in the advancement process, I have a maximum of about 24 par cans at any one venue [Please see attached Lighting Plot for Lincoln Hall, if you need a visual
8632t-touring-gels-lh-light-plot.pdf
].

For concert lighting, is there a standard amount of each gel that I should have while traveling? Also, how many different color choices should be in my design?

If you'd like to recommend particular gels that you use in your concert lighting - feel free! I've been becoming familiar with Rosco lately, but I'm open to other brand recommendations.

Thanks for any input!

Attachments

• LH Light Plot.pdf
    297.3 KB · Views: 264
I would not really take any... assume they will have a red wash, blue wash, some type of green, some type of amber/orange wash, and possibly a lav wash. After that, you get what you get. Your not going to have time to re-gel... and you won't want to be on a ladder during the out putting it all back. In the advance process ask for your color but I would not go out of your way to bring stuff. The music world tends to look at house rigs as "you get what you get... and your going to like it". Use your ground package as much as possible and assume the house rig is there for fill only.