Understanding: Portfolios

NateTheRiddler

Premium Member
Good morning, CB!

I have a conundrum that needs solving. Here’s the situation:

1) For those that don’t know, I’m currently studying my field (lighting, general electrical) in depth on my own time. I am currently studying for a non-theatrical degree since I’m close to completing it and it makes the most fiscal sense. I have one year left in this field of study.
2) I am currently employed in two locations: in event technology at my school, doing very small corporate-style productions, and at my PAC as the ALD, interjecting my 5¢ whenever I can.
3) I am currently strapped for time, only having about 2-3 hours available per day free.

My current issue is in regards to expanding my portfolio and putting my lighting knowledge to use. I can’t put myself in for any show runs at my PAC because my schooling is far too demanding to let me have the days off I need for design, tech week, rehearsals, and the run. In addition, my school’s event technology department is... *cough* leaving much to be desired.

So how do I enhance my portfolio? Right now, I spend a lot of time building stages and designs on MA3D in conjunction with MA2onPC, since it’s the only way I know to show off what I know. I often make videos of my WIP demonstrations and have them available for those who ask; unfortunately, MA3D isn’t real life so I find that my portfolio and lighting knowledge usually comes into question regardless.

Ideas? Or am I SoL?

Example of portfolio for context (work in progress, not finished)

Take pictures of your work? How else does a portfolio get built?

While your example is nice. It show absolutely nothing besides you can previs.

All the pictures on your phone is stuff you have worked on. You can make into a clip If you have an iPhone.

Hit the arrow on the second header and let the phone do the work.

17CF608D-07D8-4AE7-8C04-0FFAD89832FB.png

Good morning, CB!