Value of NFPA & other memberships?

One of my many hats for my day job is consulting for Arts facilities we help develop; because I'm the "technical guy" to our non-theater people, I'm asked about everything from ventilation, power requirements, lighting, plumbing, IT, Audio/visual- you name it- that artists or venues use or need. I was looking up NFPA information the other day and they just sent me an application for membership.

Is it worth it? How many of you here have experience with NFPA membership, and have you found it a good value? I'm asking my employer to consider buying the membership for me, but I wanted to mine the wisdom of the CB boards first.

Also, are there other organizations (not including Unions, that's a different discussion) I should consider joining? What do you recommend? What should I avoid?

Lots of related trade and professional associations if you include all the areas noted - USITT (theatre tech), ASHRAE (HVAC), IEEE (electrical engineering), BICSI (IT), IES (illumination), InfoComm (AV), ASPE (plumbing), PMI (Project Management), IFMA (Facility Managers), IAVM (Venue Managers), AES (audio), CSI (Construction Specifications), USGBC ('Green' buildings), ASTC (theatre consultants), NCAC (acoustical consultants) and many others.

One thing to possibly consider is that some of those areas (mechancial, electrical, plumbing and so on) are associated with licensed Professional Engineers and Contractors. Being a member of the related professional groups does not affect the need to use properly licensed professionals but can be beneficial in terms of the educational and informational resources that may be available through them or the discounts they offer on related technical information (handbooks, Standards, software, etc.).