Vectorworks

Hughesie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Yeah i don't think you should be posted that kind of question here
despite the people making vectorworks not exactly being a small company it still impacts everyone who actually buys it. you crack it, we pay for it
 

dvsDave

Benevolent Dictator
Administrator
Senior Team
CB Mods
Fight Leukemia
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Location
DC Metro Area
I know you are new here, but please review the ControlBooth site policies: here
 

Charc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
That being said. Are vectorworks prices a constant thing, or is there any place to get cheapER (I know these things cost a fair chunk o' change) software?
 

soundman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Location
Nashville TN
I picked up the student design suite for $160 which includes all the industry packs, spot light, renderworks etc... Unlike Autocad it does not print out STUDENT VERSION on all your drawings it just requires a dongle and says educational version in the title bar on your computer.
 

avkid

Not a New User
Fight Leukemia
Joined
Feb 17, 2004
Location
Howell, NJ
I picked up the student design suite for $160 which includes all the industry packs, spot light, renderworks etc.
Holy Cow, where?
My cart total comes out to $1795
 

Jezza

Active Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
Academic Super Store--you can pick up Vectorworks 12.5 for $159.99 IF and only IF you are under 18 years old. Otherwise, if you are a college student or teacher of any sort its closer to $360.00 I believe.

12.5 is GREAT--good luck all.
 

soundman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Location
Nashville TN
I guess I should have made that clearer- that price is for students and not for professional use. I need to reread the licenses to what constitutes student use. If I am a student but getting paid for drawings I do in vectorworks will I need to upgrade to pro?
 

Jezza

Active Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
Nope, Nemestcheck (SP) doesn't care, or at least they won't know unless you tell them. I get paid for drawings as well, however, when you send out the "elibility" form for them, leave that information out and just include the course or department that the program should be associated with. Personally, I can justify this because I am a design student at my highschool and am teaching myself Vectorworks as an additonal program to use (They use CadKey, ew). It just so happens that the company I work for perfers to use Vectorworks for their plots and system design work as well.

The "Student" version is absolutely the same program as the professional version just at a drastically discounted price. Everything is identical, I even called Nemetscheck driectly to confirm this. The only downside is it is dongle based, as opposed to the multi-license firm version.
 

icewolf08

CBMod
CB Mods
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Location
Lititz, PA
As has been said, there is an educational version of VW available. Shoot an email off to Mike Bendler, he is the academic sales person at Nemetschek (at least he used to be). They are very nice there and happy to help you out. There are a bunch of different package options for students, and sure, you have to use the dongle, but other than that there is no difference between the Academic (B) version and the standard (A) version.
 

SteveB

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Location
Brooklyn, NY
The "Student" version is absolutely the same program as the professional version just at a drastically discounted price. Everything is identical, I even called Nemetscheck driectly to confirm this. The only downside is it is dongle based, as opposed to the multi-license firm version.
The educational and student versions of v12 do not allow exporting past v10, where as the Pro version goes as far back as MiniCad including VW 10, 9 & 8 in there assorted flavors. There are a few other export limitations in the educational/student versions as well. Nemetscheck is pretty vague as to what exactly the limitations are, or they were with me, but that may have been the salesperson I talked to.

FWIW, If you used v10 (as I did), you can keep v10 on the PC and the v10 dongle and do an export out of v12.5 to 10, then open up 10 and export back even further, at least that's how I got around the limitation.

I got our educational versions thru a company in Texas called Genesis Technologies. Very good company, very good prices.

Steve Bailey
Brooklyn College
 

soundman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Location
Nashville TN
the dongle is a bit of a PITA but I keep it with my flash drive with all my drawings on it so it works out when I go from my desktop to my laptop. It would be real nice if the dongle had a built in flash drive but whats a kid to do.
 

icewolf08

CBMod
CB Mods
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Location
Lititz, PA
Serial Number, can't find it anywhere
Didn't you get it the first time you asked? No one here is going to provide you with a serial number. If you want to pirate software you are on your own. It is against the TOS of these forums to solicit such information or for anyone to give you serials for software. There are other sites online for that.