Venue sound level restrictions in contract

tschnuckel

My venue’s board wants to put language into all contracts. What are some opinions on this or suggestions? Here is what they sent to me as a proposal.

I’m a system designer by training and understand how subjective SPL can become because of all the variables. It really isn’t just a number, but location, time, weight, program material, etc. and then you go from there once “0” is defined. I’ve already built in some heavy compression in the DSP and we don’t really have a problem with it, but for some reason they now think we need to spell it out in contracts.

I’m not seeking legal advice, just others experience with this concept and enforcement

here’s what they want....

Sound Levels: Federal and Local standard for maximum continuous sound level is 85 decibels. Purchaser will allow an average “A-weighted” sound level of 90 decibels with no peaks above 100 decibels. These measurements will be taken at various locations in the theater during sound check. The Purchaser retains the right to determine appropriate sound levels for all performances and to take corrective action should it deem sound levels inappropriate or harmful.

The 85dB reference is superfluous and factually misrepresents the standards. 85dBA is where NIOSH wants you to limit exposure to 8 hrs daily and is an occupational noise exposure limit for employees -- not a maximum continuous limit for the general public during a recreational event. If 85 isn't the limit you're enforcing, don't include it because it will only confuse people. They may think you are referring to ordinances, which would in most cases would actually be much lower than 85 and refer to what is going on at the property line.

I would make all limits exactly how they would read on a sound meter to avoid any confusion. It sounds like what that language is asking for is:
90 LAeq (this would have a time average applied it, for example 5 or 15 minutes)
100 LApk