Vintage Fresnel stage light - Furse

Hi Guys,

I have some friends whose father past away recently. He owned a photo studio and my friends found out he had this fresnel stage light in the studio.

As you can see on the pictures it is a product from Furse and the model seems to be SS181 (not sure if I read the markings on steel correctly).

Pictures: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/53063170
(I could not find a way to upload directly to this thread, probably it is not possible)

Now the thing is that they want to sell it on auction in his studio this coming weekend but the problem is like this; what is it worth? I'm a photographer myself so that's the reason why they asked me but honestly I have no clue at all. After a little reseach on the internet I finally ended up in this forum. I hope someone can help us out.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Probably not too useful as a working fixture. For one thing, I strongly suspect that the lamp is no longer manufactured. When it dies you will find it difficult and expensive to replace.

It's worth exactly what someone will pay for it ;). Really, there are two values to consider. One being the value as a working fixture - probably not a whole lot. Another is if it has that vintage "Hollywood" feel. If it does, it might bring in a little more than its practical/useful value. You'd be surprised by what some nuts enthusiasts will pay for "modern/vintage/steampunk/industrial" home decor. I see people asking nearly $1,000 for a $50 fixture all the time... Whether or not they actually get it... I have my doubts but there's a sucker enthusiast born every minute. Larger (10"+) lenses, when intact, and be desirable/costly as well, so consider that.