weird power outs

itie

so at my school we have all colortran equipment. we run a innovator lighting board and i believe we have colortran dimmer (but we are able to get to them). well one morning i walked into our theatre to do some work and found the strip lights on our second electric strobing. the board was off and i tried turning off the lights using the presets. but they still strobed on. so i ended up unplugging them. i left them unplugged for a month and a guy did a dance concert in our theatre and he used them. so they were working and not strobing. i found out that the school had a power outage the nught before they started strobing. then a couple of days ago i was working on a set and the power went out (bad storm). everything was fine until the generators kicked in and the storm light went on. well sure enough on the same electric and i believe same fixtures the strips light started to strobe. now im new to tech and im the only thing this school has but to me it sounds like something is wired wrong. can you guys think of any reasons of why this is happening? i told them to bring in the company that did the install but nothing has been done about that yet.

This happens in my space from time to time when I turn off the light board. Random things will come on, go off, flash, flicker, etc. Turning the light board on and then back off usually fixes it.

My point was that sometimes sending a fresh control signal to the dimmers is enough to stop them from misbehaving.

Do the lights continue to strobe when the board is on with all channels set to 0?

Interesting. Sounds like you need access to the dimmer room to reset them when this happens. Why don't you have access to them? Who do you have to get in contact with to get access to them?