What should I teach my tech theater students?

dpak

(In case you have déjà vu, I’m posting a similar thread in different boards.)

I teach a high school tech theater class. When it comes to tech, I’m self-taught, and mostly through necessity. I’m trying to make the class more rigorous and turn it into more of a vo-tech class where the students are able to step into any professional theater and be able to handle many of the tasks that might be assigned to them.
Here are some of the things I teach when it comes to tools:

Everyone must know how to use a drill to make a pilot hole and to drill in a screw.
I demonstrate the jigsaw, reciprocating saw, circular saw and mitre saw, but I don’t make students use them – some are terrified of them and I don’t want to force them into using a potentially dangerous tool. They do have to know what each is used for. And I go over basic safety - use goggles and ear protection.

Construction
This is ad-hoc, depending on what sets need to be built. I don’t go into any standard practices and I generally rely on students who seem more comfortable using the tools, so not everyone is building sets. I think it would be good to have some kid of construction project that everyone has to do.

So, what do you think I should include in the curriculum? Would it be worth going into the strength of wood and how much weight a platform can handle? We have some flats that we reuse, but should I teach the students how to make them?

Thank you for your advice!

Last edited:

I teach a high school tech theater class. When it comes to tech, I’m self-taught, and mostly through necessity. I’m trying to make the class more rigorous and turn it into more of a vo-tech class where the students are able to step into any professional theater and be able to handle many of the tasks that might be assigned to them.

Here are some of the things I teach when it comes to lights: