Design Software Console

Hello

We currently have a Strandlighting Wall Rack, and a Strand Console, however I would love to be able to design the lighting without having to pull all the equipment out etc. I was hoping that there would be a free (reasonably cheap) piece of software that could be installed on a PC or mac that could be used to operate the lights?

If this is possible what additional hardware is required?

Thanks

Phil.

ps. pretty much a beginner at all this...the last show was controlled manually.

Check the web pages of Enttec and/or DMX King. They make USB to DMX interfaces you need to use to control your lights. They have a list of compatible software as well (mine among them!).

Last edited:
We have all Strand dimmers, and originally used a Strand Palette series console. (I have never used it, that was before my time here) We currently run our lights on a PC, using the Horizon program. However, that program is already at least a decade old. We have also used American DJ's MyDMX program, and have had no problems with either.

so if i use the Open DMX USB or USB Assembled Widget (because i'm a school teacher on a very limited budget!!!) along with compatible software I'll be able to control my Strand lighting! This is great! I am a complete novice at all this, so have been trying to watch so many tutorials to get the jest of it all. The dimmers seem straight forward as the majority of our lights are simple dimmers with gels. But we have to "fancy" lights (can't remember their name, but are capable of changing colour and using gobos) these two have there separate manual console, so I was hoping to get them all going of the same DMX. I'll maybe take some pictures of the setup so that I can get some tips!