"Work for Hire" and Design/Content Considerations

Chris Chapman

For my professional friends, what type of language is in your contract about design work being "work for hire?" My question is based that my district is making a grab for all digital files are the property of the district. No where in my contract does it even specify about the content that I create for our facility. From light plots, to scenic designs, to call sheets, to cue sheets, etc. If I ever want to reuse them in another gig, under their new terminology, it belongs to them and I need to seek clearances.

I was under the belief that content created under "work for hire" needed to be agreed to by both parties.

Anyone have any experience with "work for hire" and how it impacts your designs/content/etc?

Last edited:
"Work-for-hire" means any/all works produced are property of the client.

I'll post exact wording later but basically my contracts state I am an independent contractor, that no part of those agreements is "work-for-hire", and that my intellectual property and any digital or other works produced by me remain my sole property except where explicitly transferred over to client within those agreements.

Also, there is a difference between licensing your works to a client for their use and transferring ownership of your work to that client. Don't mistake those concepts as being interchangeable.

This is the type of topic that really needs to be addressed by a qualified attorney, but Mike hit on what I understand to be two very critical points, those of employee versus independent contractor and license versus ownership.