Designing a 12V setup for outdoor use

KHesse

Hello everyone,

This year, I and a group of friends are going to Roskilde Festival, the largest general music festival in Europe, with about 100,000 attendees! 150 acts come to play for 4 days in a row, but only in the evenings. Throughout the day, people hang out in their campgrounds, listen to music on their own setups, drink beer and have a good time.

I am in charge of the music&lighting part of my camp. We have a budget of about $2000 total, with about $500 of that set aside for lighting equipment. I have some experience in this, but now a whole lot, so I am hoping you can help me make the right decisions.

The purpose of our lightshow is just to have some cool visuals when the evening comes in, creating a cool vibe in our camp. Currently, the setup looks like this:

Lamps: 2x Stairville LED Par56 or Stairville LED Par36 .

Controller: Starvillle 6-channel DMX controller or, if necessary, Starville 12-channel DMX controller. Alternatively, considering using the built-in music mode to make the lights flash along with the music.

Stand: Milennium LST-250

Batteries: 2x 12v 7.2Ah SLA Battery wired in parallel to up the ampage.

My idea is to wire the two batteries in parallel to give me a 12v 14.4Ah supply. By using a 12v->230v converter I have lying around, I'll convert the power into 230v to power the lamps. We also have a solar panel (unsure of the exact wattage), that will be used throughout the day to keep lights and music batteries topped off.

The Par56 has a consumption of 13W. Assuming the battery supplies 12V on average, that's a current draw of 13W*2/12V=2.2amps. So accounting for discharge, loss through converter etc, etc, I guess 5 hours of non-stop use.

If I use the Par36, with a consumption of 7W, the math goes out to 7W*2/12V=1.2Amps. About 10 hours of use.