LEDs and R20 reassurance

liamskneeson

High School Theater teacher here (self taught on all things lighting)

I have set up our Colorsource LED lights and I really want to make sure I did it correctly, so I'm looking for some reassurance. The amount of anxiety I have that I'm going to ruin $30,000 worth of ETC color source pars 2 weeks before our musical is unreal, ha.

I have 9 colorsource pars daisy chained to a wireless color source relay, the color source relay is plugged into a dimmer with a r20 module (etc unison system). I've repeated this same thing for 3 different electrics (9 cs pars to cs relay powered by R20 module, so 1 module per electric)

From there I've parked the r20 channels at full and everything seems to be working well. I did however read this article from ETC and I'm wondering if I have to set the r20's to non-dim? Or is that only if I was using d20's to power the LEDS? (which I'm not)

Is there anything I'm missing? Like I said, it appears to be working but I'm programming cues tomorrow and I have a ton of anxiety that I'm going to ruin all of our LED lights, ha.

Hi Liam,
There are people who are more expert on the ETC Systems than I am on this forum, but here is what I know.
A dimmer modifies the waveform. Even a dimmer parked at full. A relay does not...it's simply a controllable switch.

Your fixtures need a pure sinewave, or the electronics will (eventually) be damaged. You might not see a problem right away, but eventually the PSU or processor will fail.

So, if the R20 can act as a true relay, and is set to non-Dim mode, it should be OK.
HOWEVER, if it is still just being a dimmer "set to full", it is likely to eventually damage your fixtures.
I believe that ETC offers Relay modules for the Unison racks. The only Unison system that I used had a GE relay panel controlled by the Unison brain, so we didn't have that issue.

@STEVETERRY can you hop in and help here?