Need advice for projector and screen solution

Egidijus

Hello,

we are planning several shows were big projection screen would be used as a background, but I am new to these solutions, so I need some advice.

Requirements for screen:
size - ~7m x ~4x (~22ft x ~13ft)
rear projection
view angle - >120° (because people will be as near as 6m)
screen need to be compatible to projector with ultra short throw lens (as I understood not all can do that?)
screen need to be portable

Requirements for projector:
need to be compatible with ultra short throw lens (space in the back is limited - 4-5m)

and with projector there is a lot of other questions:
which technology is better - DLP (issue - rainbow effect) or LCD (issue - screen door effect, dead pixels)?
how many lumens I need for big screen with no other light/small lights on scene for clear background?
why projectors contrast vary from 1000:1 to 1000000+:1? Or is it no big deal?
which projector light technology is better? Is it worth to change metal-halide lamps or is it better to use laser technology?

I found only scraps of information about big rear projection screen so I would appreciate any information about that.

Also I found projectors variety in technologies used for lighting, image forming and other parameters combinations overwhelming for new guy so I would really appreciate if You could share Your knowledge and experience.

Well... it depends. :think: Budget is going to be your first and biggest question, if budget wasn't an issue you'd be golden and the solution might be readily available.

Now back to reality. What is the lifetime of the projection screen? This might inform your choice of a video vs projection surface option.
Rear Projection material is available from some usual suspects at decent market rates and 22ftx13ft might be reasonable again depending on your budget.
Rear Projection does have it's advantages, but you'll need a bigger projector and better material to sell the art.