Actors Playing Instruments Live

Kayley Page

I'm new to posting on Control Booth but I've lurked around for ages. I've been stage managing professionally since my second year of college, so about seven years now. I also work as a technician backstage, usually as a props or rail lead.

My next gig is for a very large children's theatre program, which produces their summer stock show on our Mainstage every summer. This year we're doing the youth version of School of Rock.

For those of you who don't know, one of the premises is that the actors play their own instruments live onstage. There will be three guitarists, a drummer, and a bassist of the ages 14-19. And a keyboardist, drummer, guitarist, and bassist of the ages 11-14. So, as you can see, rather ambitious.

They're in the process of casting now and likely have the talent base to pull it off.

My big question is how to go about scheduling this additional need for rehearsals, since we're basically adding band practice needs to our normal rehearsal period, and also have the usual acting, singing, and choreo needs. In the past we've had actors play for a song or two, but not the majority of the music.

I wanted to have some basic ideas before talking to my directing team and I do plan on talking to the program director and production manager about the possible need for additional rehearsal time. Did anyone have any thoughts or strategies or have dealt with this situation before?

There will be three guitarists, a drummer, and a bassist of the ages 14-19
Just going to point out that technically thats a problem. The additional rider for the show says all performers MUST be 18 or under. Nobody is likely to check birth certificates but still technically breaking the terms of the contract.

Also if it helps, you only NEED to have these characters play live. If you WANT to be that ambitious, go for it but it only requires:
Dewey (Guitar),
Zack (Guitar),
Freddie (Drums),
Katie (Bass),
Lawrence (Piano/Keyboard)