Mixers/Consoles Allen and Heath iLive T-Series Vs. Yamaha M7CL-48ES

BNEL

Hello All

I have gone through several old threads and would like some current opinions.

Background
I am a theater manager for a school district where we have two high schools with two theaters. One space is one year old and the other is fifteen years old. My older facility has issues with the sound system and we are looking to upgrade. My new facility has a Yamaha M7CL-48 console with a AudiaFlex DSP.

Scope of the Project at the older space
Replace the head end of the sound system with a new board and DSP engine while replacing copper analog wire with a digital snake system.

Project Criteria
To meet or exceed current capibilities at the newer space.

I have received 3 bids on the project that are inside my budget.
Company A and B Bid similar solutions
  • Allen and Heath T-Series with a 64 Channel mix Engine running Cat5 between the mix locations and amp rack where the mix engine will be housed.
  • Electrovoice Netmax for DSP
  • Along with a Dante Interface card between the DSP and Mix Engine.

Company C

All Three companies came in at similar bid. These are the questions that I am asking myself.

Do I want to stay with a similar console between both spaces?
My thinking is telling me that the system design from Company A/B is a better fit for my older space? Particularly for future expansion.

Keeping the two facilities as similar as possible would definitely make life less complicated.

[*]Electrovoice Netmax for DSP

Do you have an EV speaker system? I believe the NetMax has some FIR presets that really improve the quality of EV speakers and aren't available in other processors.

How big is your existing snake? Do you want more channels so you don't waste too many inputs on the digital console? Is there any physical room for expansion - is the conduit big enough to run a new copper snake in the future?