Mixers/Consoles Review Allen & Heath SQ6 (SQ5, SQ7)

NickVon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Location
07003
Tried today to do a multitrack record from the SQ to garageband over usb. Every 3 minutes or so, I'd get an error that the disk wasn't fast enough.
Couple times tried doing 4 tracks, another couple time tried 8 tracks. Tried writing to the internal SSD of a MBP and also an external SSD over USB. Read/Writes between 300-500MBps and with my math, 8 tracks at 48k 24bit is like 9.2Mbps. So i should have plenty of overhead.
Has anyone tried this with Garageband or should I try Audacity or Logic or Protools?
Something to be aware of. That maybe isn't documented as well as it should be. Especially if you are using a MacBook (laptop) is to make sure your session file matches the native internals of the SQ. which is 96khz 24bit i believe. the Processing cycles and hard drive (even SSD) requirements for live conversion can be troublesome. I also don't know if Garage Band can go that high of audio quality. I use logic and have had good results when my sessions matches the consoles output so there is no live transcoding happening.

Reaper is also a great free/inexpensive multitrack recorder that has a very low system overhead.

I can't speak to Waves/ or Dante recording as i don't have those cards for my board.
 

DrewE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Location
Vermont
Something to be aware of. That maybe isn't documented as well as it should be. Especially if you are using a MacBook (laptop) is to make sure your session file matches the native internals of the SQ. which is 96khz 24bit i believe. the Processing cycles and hard drive (even SSD) requirements for live conversion can be troublesome. I also don't know if Garage Band can go that high of audio quality. I use logic and have had good results when my sessions matches the consoles output so there is no live transcoding happening.

Reaper is also a great free/inexpensive multitrack recorder that has a very low system overhead.

I can't speak to Waves/ or Dante recording as i don't have those cards for my board.
If memory serves, GarageBand is limited to use a 44.1 kHz sample rate only, with nothing else possible. 24 bit samples are no problem, but any other sample rate must be transcoded somewhere. This would more be a processing bottleneck than a disk I/O bottleneck, assuming it's doing it on the fly. Investigating CPU and disk I/O loads with the performance monitor utility might give a little insight into what's actually going on.
 

macsound

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Location
San Francisco, CA
Something to be aware of. That maybe isn't documented as well as it should be. Especially if you are using a MacBook (laptop) is to make sure your session file matches the native internals of the SQ. which is 96khz 24bit i believe. the Processing cycles and hard drive (even SSD) requirements for live conversion can be troublesome. I also don't know if Garage Band can go that high of audio quality. I use logic and have had good results when my sessions matches the consoles output so there is no live transcoding happening.

Reaper is also a great free/inexpensive multitrack recorder that has a very low system overhead.

I can't speak to Waves/ or Dante recording as i don't have those cards for my board.
Didn't even think about sample rate. Good point!
 

macsound

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Location
San Francisco, CA
I'm at the point where using the built in recorder is useless.
Has anyone else noticed the file creation date is always 1/1/2017? It never increases. This makes sifting through files incredibly annoying.
 

howlingwolf487

Active Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Location
Collingswood, NJ
The Midi Control is a work in progress from A&H. I’m looking forward to what is anticipated direct midi control through soft keys assignments. (ie. Being able to send a very specific midi control that Qlab recognize, and interprets as Play/ Pause, arrow Up, Down, etc. There was some workaround by using “midi faders on a layer, and using the select, mute and cue buttons” but it’s harder to label what was assigned, and puts Qlab transport controls very close to buttons and faders which are being touched frequently in my circumstance.
I know I’m digging up this review, but I wanted to share an update on the process I found via the SQ Series [email protected] page.

My church is buying an SQ6 and I’m really enjoying learning how others are implementing its built-in features as well as customizable buttons & rotaries for both onboard AND external control.
 

Attachments

NickVon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Location
07003
I know I’m digging up this review, but I wanted to share an update on the process I found via the SQ Series [email protected] page.

My church is buying an SQ6 and I’m really enjoying learning how others are implementing its built-in features as well as customizable buttons & rotaries for both onboard AND external control.
YUP!!! A&H has fully implemented Midi control on these consoles. and i have a similiar setup to your photos. I have a Play, Stop, previous cue, next cue, pause, resume buttons for Qlab control on my SQ6
 

spenserh

Active Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Location
Chatham, Ontario
I know I’m digging up this review, but I wanted to share an update on the process I found via the SQ Series [email protected] page.

My church is buying an SQ6 and I’m really enjoying learning how others are implementing its built-in features as well as customizable buttons & rotaries for both onboard AND external control.
I did the opposite once.

Set up QLab to fire cues on an M32R since Music Group decided to leave the scene functionality but omit the GO button on the console.