building a dry ice machine, redux

Status
Not open for further replies.

godd2

hello all, releatively new to this forum. Where do you all stand on making dry ice machines? For example, the aquafogger posted on another thread, looks like not much more than a trash can that has been made air tight with a heating element and a place for a dry ice tray. I realize there is more to it but doesnt seem like much more. I also do realize the pressure issue with dry ice since i am actually a chemistry teacher that does the lighting for our school, weird combination of degrees.

I was thinking a trash can lined with some weather striping at the top would hold the gas in. I would place a few pressure released gauges, much like a pressure cooker has, on the top. then get a simple heating element that would go towards the bottom and use a caulking to make it water tight.

for the dry ice i would use a metal tray with holes in it that i could either lower into the water when needed or i may even use a few water pumps to bring the hot water up to the dry ice and sprinkle on top of it.

Then i would use a small squirel fan to help shoot the fog out quickly when needed, not sure if i would mount that inside the container or put it in the hose line some how.

Ok, now tell me what i am missing

thank you

The air tight lid and safety valves become kind of redundant once you put two holes in the side of the body for air in and fog out. A 45 gal drum is much more suited to holding and heating up large quantities of water than a garbage can is. Also, install a drain on the bottom of the drum for easy shutdown.

If you do a search, there are a gazillion threads on dry ice machines here with a lot of good info in them.

Or instead of going to all that trouble, you could just buy a dry ice machine or a fogger ...

...For example, the aquafogger posted on another thread, ...