Controlling multiple RS-232 devices

DiscoBoxer

I have limited experience with RS-232 control.

I am looking to control ten Kramer VP-443 video switcher/scalers. Want to make it stupid simple and use three mechanical buttons to change the switchers between the 3 potential inputs fed into all ten Kramers.

My plan is to use a Global Cache GC-100-12 to connect mechanical buttons to the three relay contactors. Then output from the Global cache via RS-232 to all the Kramer switchers for simultaneous switching. I cannot find a RS-232 hub/switch/distributor to take the 1 output of the GC and broadcast to 10 inputs of the switchers. Know of any?

If my understanding is correct, I only need to send data to switchers but not receive. What would happen if I convert serial to RJ-45 and use a standard data hub?

Assistance would be appreciated.

The easiest way I know, admittedly very expensive, is Alcorn McBrideis V16. It has contact closures to 16 RS 232 ports. Overkill for you job but it is bullet proof. BTW what are you trying to accomplish? Are all the ten switchers doing something different content wise?

Correct. Essentially, I have 10 screens & 3 video servers that output 10 independent feeds each. I want to switch the content by essentially switching between the three video servers. Instead of using a matrix video switcher, the economy route was to install switchers for each display. I will peek at the Alcorn you suggested.

The v16 is an interesting piece. It does look like a bit overkill, but I requested a quote and will review specs to see how it can fit into the mix. Stable is good and these are rated for 24/7 operation, so that is a plus! Thanks.