Enttec USB Pro or ADJ MyDMX?

icculus

Hello,

I am brand new to this forum, so please forgive me if I am posting in the wrong section.

Looking to move to a software based DMX solution. I am just getting started with lighting so I am not too sure which route to take. Currently I am just using a small DMX board to control the small amount of DMX lights for a band. I am however running out of space and need to upgrade. I had planned to purchase the Enttec USB Pro to use with FreeStyler or other software. Still researching which software solution would be best for me. However, i just found a used ADJ MyDMX in my town for $125. Same price as the Enttec USB Pro. Now the $125 sounds like a good deal compared to the $299 online, I am just not so sure that it is any better in performance/software. So I am writing this forum to help me with this decision.

Just a little info on the lights that I currently have:
4 - LED Par 64's
4 - LED ColorSplash Jr (par 38)
2 - Chauvet Swarm 4
2 - Chauvet Intimidator 1.0
2 - Chauvet 4bars
1 - Chauvet Mayhem
1 - Off brand 7 lens effect light
1 - Chauvet Flex Smoke Machine (DMX)

Next purchase will for sure be moving head lights....

Pretty small set up and hoping to make it better. Thinking a software based DMX solution will greatly enhance the show.

Which would be a better purchase? ADJ MyDMX or Enttec USB Pro (guessing the Enttec USB Pro).

Any suggestions for software would be very welcome!

Thanks for any help/suggestions.

Eric

What you're paying for with the ADJ box is the software that goes with it. The Enttec unit is almost certainly the better hardware piece (has RDM, everything supports it, etc), but it has no for-pay software bundled with it.

So, in my opinion the Enttec box would be the better solution since it leaves you open to upgrading to better software down the road. The ADJ unit seems to be a closed ecosystem where you're locked down to only their software.