Hello, everyone!

My name is Chris, and I am very new to the theater world, including the technical aspect. I've been very fortunate to have the opportunity to learn from the great tech crew we have at our local community theater. We just finished hosting the first weekend of Kaleidoscope 2015 in Richland, WA. I was in charge of lighting for one of the companies (the host company) selected to move on to the regional competition.

I met some amazing people from the visiting companies, and one of them directed me to look here for guidance. Due to my general inexperience in theater, I'm now very nervous. I want to provide the best possible tech support for my entire cast and crew.

Fortunately for me, the production is not very fast-paced and has relatively simple lighting cues. I've been informed the board we will be working with will be an ETC Ion 1000. I've been to their website already and watched the training videos they have available.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to where I can find a complete manual? Or any other way I can prepare/familiarize myself with the equipment I will be working with?

Also, if anyone has any tips for setting up in a new theater quickly and efficiently, it would be a great help. And trust me, I realize how general this question is, but I'm so new that any advice you can offer will undoubtedly be helpful.

Thank you,

~Chris

My name is Chris, and I am very new to the theater world, including the technical aspect. I've been very fortunate to have the opportunity to learn from the great tech crew we have at our local community theater. We just finished hosting the first weekend of Kaleidoscope 2015 in Richland, WA. I was in charge of lighting for one of the companies (the host company) selected to move on to the regional competition.