IATSE Question

I'm a student attending college right out side of dc. I've worked over hire in the city for some time now and have been wanting to join the dc chapter of the IATSE(local 22) for some time now but i have some questions. When first joining I will put in the d list call sheet for about 6 months. I was wondering how often a person on the d list gets a job call and typically what is the hourly wage these jobs pay.
I would really like to hear from people in the local 22 or other chapters

Welcome to the booth. Stop by the New Members Forum and introduce yourself.

As a general rule IATSE call lists go local members, members from other locals, then overhire. So if your getting calls now as an overhire worker joining should bump you up noticeably. I'm not very familiar with north east IATSE politics, but I know out west it's pretty normal for there to be a good number of people on the call list from other locals.

Furthermore, in my experience yearly dues are not outrageous (initiation fee can sometimes be a rough one, but you only pay that once). If you have a chance to join, you really want to be a stagehand for a living, and you don't have a gig from a non-union company, it's probably in you interest to join. There are a lot of good opportunities that being an IATSE member can help you with. Feel free to PM me if you have specific questions.

Last edited: