Intelligent Fixtures Unsynchronized

LxTRex

Hey CB,

I've lurked around here a bit whenever I needed some info when I was a student, but now that I'm out in the real world without someone to direct all my questions to, I figured I'd sign up.

I recently started working at a venue that has 12 (almost) brand new Elation 15R Platinum Spot Pros but they aren't working as well as I'd like. Specifically, there is a definite issue with their timings. Sometimes color changes won't happen together, stage left will shift and then stage right a half second later. This happens with gobo and prism as well. This is all assuming 0 count.

I thought it might be the console, but a touring LD who swears by the Avolites Pearl (2004 model) said he has never had that problem with the console before. He suggested checking the color flags (as that was the problem he was specifically having). But the latency isn't always in the same direction which makes me skeptical of that being the problem.

I don't think there is a terminator up there (again, recently started and haven't had to service them yet), could that be causing the problem?

I also don't think the DMX run is too long, it's routed through the building but it's not that big of a place; even if they took a convoluted path installing, it still couldn't be more than a couple hundred feet.

That's all I've got. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Russ

Realistically you can go about 1,000 feet before you need the signal boosted, in that case you can use an opto. I would look up the pdf for the manual for the fixture online and see if there are various settings in the menu. Sounds to me like you may have different seeing applied in different fixtures. make sure that all of the fixtures are patched to the same personality in the console and it is the most up to date personality. Another possibility is that the software in the fixture may be older. the fixture may need to have updated software applied.