Linking BTR-800 base stations

vcuchris

We just added a new BTR-800 base station to link to another one we've had a few years. The first one (and the 4 wireless headsets) work great.
One base station is on E88 frequency range, the other on A2.

The two stations are connected in the back with XLR cables, and with a Cat6 cable, per the manual.
Both stations are in RTS Mode, with 2-wire setting.

The comm boxes are all TR-800.
The original 4 boxes (with the first base station) were 4-pin male.
The new boxes, while still TR-800, are 6-pin female boxes (A2R5).

The original base station has two paddle antennas, one to send & one to receive.
The new base station only has one antenna, as we were led to believe we didn't need a second.

The communication with the new, 6-pin boxes, is one way. Everyone on the original base station can hear them, but they are unable to hear anything, including themselves.

I'm no engineer, and this whole process is way more advanced than I'm capable of. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
We just added a new BTR-800 base station to link to another one we've had a few years. The first one (and the 4 wireless headsets) work great.
One base station is on E88 frequency range, the other on A2.

Are you US based? E88 is fine (Base Station Tx @ 590-608, Rx @ 470-488) however A2 is no longer a valid frequency band (Base Station Tx @ 518-536, Rx @ 632-650). The Rx side of the base station will be consistently hit by interference from cell phones, but you can still use those packs as listen-only packs.

The two stations are connected in the back with XLR cables, and with a Cat6 cable, per the manual.
Both stations are in RTS Mode, with 2-wire setting.

The XLR is for intercom, the RJ-45 links are for WTA (Wireless Talk-About) channel, the little round button on the beltpacks no one ever touches. The RJ-45 is non-essential for link to happen unless folks actually use WTA.

The comm boxes are all TR-800.