looking for advice on building a rotating tree, actor inside

Hi -- I could really use some guidance for designing and building a "tree" in which someone can stand. The tree needs to rotate so that the other side reveals the Evil Queen's "Magic Mirror" and the previously hidden actor. I'd appreciate advice. I'm brand new to this very awesome website. Oh, and I have only a small black box theatre in a small rural school, with an 8' clearance centre stage where we want the "tree" to be. -- Elizabeth

I once built 6 or so rolling 3-d trees for a production of shrek. Each tree was basically 6 plywood cutouts that each resembled half a 2-d tree. They were mounted with pipe hangers on a vertical pipe in the middle of castered circular platform, and each of the tree parts were able to move freely around the pipe, and on many occasions actors hid inside them. I feel like you could adapt this for your purposes.

Picture of the two larger trees:
proxy.php

https://imgur.com/U30gnA5

Hi -- I could really use some guidance for designing and building a "tree" in which someone can stand. The tree needs to rotate so that the other side reveals the Evil Queen's "Magic Mirror" and the previously hidden actor. I'd appreciate advice. I'm brand new to this very awesome website. Oh, and I have only a small black box theatre in a small rural school, with an 8' clearance centre stage where we want the "tree" to be. -- Elizabeth
For the rotating part of the tree I will suggest you think of it as a revolving stage, albeit hidden in the base. Use the search box and member "VAN" has post on "stage revolve".

With the fixed wheel up and a center pivot on a 36" plywood disk placed on the stage floor. Put a second disk ( 2 layers 3/4 glued together) on top Of the inverted wheels.

I use a trailer hub and spindle for the piviot. The spindle has a four bolt plate you attach to the base and the hub will attach to the top disk. Harbor freight about $150.