New Drama/ Drama Tech Teacher

Cari

Hello, all!
I am a new drama teacher that will also be teaching a section of technical drama this semester. I will be working with middle and high school students.

I am very nervous to begin this job! I have never directed a production before. We're starting with a one-act version of A Midsummer Night's Dream featuring only high school students, but in May we'll be doing an all school production of The Music Man. Eeek! I'm so nervous!!!

Any encouragement, advice, and links to helpful resources would be much appreciated. I can't wait to become an active member in this forum. You guys know your stuff.

Welcome Cari. You certainly have your work cut out for you, but you've come to the right place for help. I've replied to the other thread about a band teacher teaching HS tech. Feel free to start a new thread with specific questions whenever issues arise, after using the search feature and looking in the wiki, of course.

"Ask what you want; answer what you can."
--V. McQ.

Welcome to the Booth Cari, There are several teachers around here. Post your questions in the Education forum and we will try to help. Or you can always drop me a personal message.

I used to be a consultant working for school boards with high schools. I worked on hundreds of high schools over the years. If I may be presumptuous, I can tell you the number one problem out there with high school situations.

The person leading the way (let's say the drama teacher who is directing the school production) attempts to do "greater that X" of work with "X" of resources. And sometimes "greater than x" is in multiples, not fractions. With this equation everything suffers; safety, the production, housekeeping, the director.

Brian was a director/drama teacher. This one year I saw Brian in September and then again in May (after the production). In September he was bright, refreshed and eager. In May his eyes looked like piss holes in the snow.