Oscilloscopes

mbenonis

Wireless Guy
Administrator
Premium Member
How does an oscilloscope work? Explanations needn't be too lengthy, but I think about a paragraph will be needed to hit all of the key parts.

I was actually hoping for someone to explain it here instead of linking off somewhere. :) I'm curious how much folks know about older, but fundamental technology.

I was actually hoping for someone to explain it here instead of linking off somewhere. :) I'm curious how much folks know about older, but fundamental technology.

I was an electronic technician in the Navy (1977 - 1983) so I can tell you in gory detail exactly how an oscilloscope works. However, as I'm also a CB moderator, I'm going to back off and let someone else answer. ;)

I assume you're talking about a CRT oscilloscope.
Around the CRT, there are two sets of coils, the deflection coils. The horizontal coils are driven by the sweep generator, the vertical coils are driven by a preamplifier of some sort that modulates the voltage to the coil based on the input (the signal to be displayed). The magnetic field created by the deflection coils will impose a force upon a charged particle, in this case electrons, emitted by the electron gun.
The electron gun is located at the back end of the CRT. By thermionic emission, it emits electrons which are accelerated by a potential difference, often of several thousand volts. These electrons travel to the other end of the tube, and depending on the voltage and hence the magnetic field created by the deflection coils, will strike the screen in a certain place.
The screen is coated on the inside with a certain phosphor, a coating that emits light when struck by electrons.
The horizontal deflection coils are driven by the sweep generator, which can either produce its own sweep signals, derive them from the AC line, or optionally from another source. These coils move the beam of electrons sideways, across the screen.