Pyro and Chain motors

VL5

Im wondering about pyro, Ive been doing lighting for about four years now and i just got a giant show that the owner asked me about pyro and I said i know it looks cool but are there pyro systems and how do I control it ( i need all the details) is it controllable via DMX, also with chain motors how do you do automated truss ,thanks

Unfortunately, I don't think you will get any answers other than 'hire a professional' as both of these topics go against our TOS here at CB.

I can tell you that no, Pyro cannot and should not be controlled via DMX as it's unsafe for any 'critical' applications. Neither can chain motors in case it comes up. DMX is a talk-only protocol (it does not listen, hence, no error check). One bad signal setting off an unexpected explosion or truss movement would be a VERY bad thing.

Hope this helps.

Don't even think about doing anything involving pyro yourself. You need to hire a professional who is licensed in your state. There are many laws that govern pyro at both at the state and federal levels. All I can say is to call a professional, I think that is what everyone else will say too.

As Les has just stated, both Pyro and the Rigging of chain motors are strictly Verboten topics as Per our TOS. Discussions of where to find the info on how and who to contact are greatly appreciated, how there will be no discussion of How-To. I didn't see where you are from, but pehaps if you could supply some more info about the scope / scale of the project we might be better able to direct you in the proper direction.

I concur with the above. As the saying goes: "If you have to ask...you shouldn't be doing it."

Here are two companies in your area, selected at random, that specialize in what you want to do.
:: PYRO-FX - Celebrate With The Works ::
United Staging & Rigging, LLC