Open 4/12, dmx decoder/LED tape works from board not stage.

bren_ed

First time working with LED tape/dmx decoders. We open in less than two weeks, Q2Q in a week, open 4/12.

I’m an amateur lighting designer lighting a musical at a high school and teaching the kids what I can. The set is a series of arches with LED tape outlining/lighting them. I’ve hit a snag with dmx/control. I’ve googled to no avail…

Sorry about any confusing/wrong language or terms, I’m mostly self-taught. Very happy to be corrected/taught! I’ve tried to include all info I can, since I’m not sure what all is relevant or not…

When I connect dmx to the decoder directly from the lighting console’s (Strand Neo) dmx out port I have complete control, color and intensity, of decoder and LED tape strips (all 5 m or less). It’s RGBW Led tape, and (2) 32 channel DMX512 LED Decoders. I addressed 8 back-to-back generic RGBW led fixtures for each decoder (16 total), and addressed them 40 and 72. There are no channel conflicts/overlaps, like I said everything works great when dmx goes directly from the board.

The stuff used:

Decoder: https://www.amazon.com/Channel-Decoder-Controller-Dimmer-DC5-24V/dp/B075FHJM35?pd_rd_w=PIuvV&content-id=amzn1.sym.c75be473-fd9d-40a1-b940-0fbe5f6985d0&pf_rd_p=c75be473-fd9d-40a1-b940-0fbe5f6985d0&pf_rd_r=4JM5BRMYW2XHC7P0W4F4&pd_rd_wg=fdXNU&pd_rd_r=8a75ec7d-5b31-4e7e-bd47-d0c2728530ea&pd_rd_i=B075FHJM35&psc=1&ref_=pd_bap_m_grid_dv_rp_0_1_ec_ppx_yo2_mob_b_ts_rp_2_i#customerReviews

Tape strips: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07G48K7C1/?tag=controlbooth-20

Both decoders, external power supplies, 3-5 pin adapters and led tape are fully tested/ fully functioning.

Carrying the same set-up (cables, wiring, decoder address and console patch) to the stage and using a (fully functioning) electric (baton) dmx out port, I have no dmx control.