Safety Rules

hiker

Hi,
I was wondering if anyone can please help me. I am a student taking my very first stage management class (excited). I am doing a group project on safety, and I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on safety on stage? What is the most important peice of information that you think I as a beginner need to know about safety ? Also how important of a role does safety play, when you start working on a production?
Thanks for any advice in advance!

Our resident grammar checker and occasional curmudgeon also forgot to say, "Welcome to Control Booth!" ;)

Congratulations on taking the stage management class. That should be fun and a little eye opening. Yes, search and you shall find lots of information already here on the topic of safety... the archives are full of gold here. Do feel free to ask follow up questions if you need more help after reading those old posts. Don't forget to check out our wiki.

When you're assigned a potentially dangerous task, make sure you have the proper training and use the proper personal protective equipment or PPE and follow proper procedure. Nine years ago, I fell off a lighting truss because I didn't follow these simple rules.

Many long time CB members have heard this story before, but I think it bears retelling.