Should I buy a truss roof from China?

scott407

I have a stage rental and event company in Central Florida. We are looking into buying a truss roof system for our portable stages for outside events. I'm a newbie at truss roofing systems. Can anyone tell me if they've had experience with rktruss.com? They have an all in one rig that we can purchase (see attached images). With shipping to Florida from China and all the gear in the photos, they're saying it's about $15k (w/crank lift and tarp). Personally, I think that's a good deal, but I'm not sure of the quality of this company's equipment. They have been on alibaba for 6 years as a trusted vendor.

Some other questions I have...

1. What questions should I ask when pricing out a truss roof system?
2. Should we opt for the hand crank lift or the motors? (cost-wise it seems best to go hand crank)
3. If motors to lift, do we need someone licensed or certified to operate it?
4. Does the quality construction look good in the pics?

If anyone can offer some advice or good articles online to read about this, we'd greatly appreciate it.

Attachments

• truss roof.jpg
    truss roof.jpg
    53.3 KB · Views: 1,529
  • truss-roof2.jpg
    truss-roof2.jpg
    45 KB · Views: 693
Without being able to give you a definite answer on the quality of this company, I can answer one of your quesitons.

Given the amount of stage collapses due to roofs and bad weather, and the amount of bad weather florida can see, it is in your best interests to have someone "licensed or certified," that is--a qualified rigger, regardless of whether or not you opt for the hand crank or motorized version.

Thanks for the advice DanTt and Footer. Can you recommend a brand or company for a rig of this size?