Suspension Trauma at amusement park

That is a standard issue ski lift. What were they doing that caused the service basket to fall off? Sounds like they need more training end to end besides just suspension trama. I always worry about these "skyrides" that are in states without a ski industry. Up here there are people trained on how to work on these things and do what those guys were doing every day. Hopefully someone is inspecting this gear that knows what they are looking at. Ski lifts are freakishly dangerous if they are not maintained.

It is a ski lift with a 2 week season and was leased, maintained and operated by a company (DMC) based in Wisconsin. Also, a few years ago the Tulsa Fairgrounds considered doing away with it.

Just my wild speculation here, and I am no expert, but the type and quality of harness might have caused the death. Some fall protection harnesses provide most of the support via leg straps, which can harm blood circulation in the legs. When the victim hangs in the harness long enough, the loss of circulation is very serious and can be deadly. By contrast, some work support harness, such as used by tower riggers, provide more support with a padded waist belt and chest strap, and a person can hang in it for longer periods without harm.

http://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/2-people-rescued-after-hanging-tulsa-fair-sky-ride-n426366

The second person was recovered, rather than rescued.

Make sure you train for suspension trauma.

Jen
Jen makes a good point, I'd like to take it further.
It's not so much that you're training for Suspension Pathology, you're training to avoid it.