Talcum powder dangers?

BrianWolfe

I have heard conflicting messages about using talc which brings up the question: If it contains asbestos and is dangerous to breath why are we putting copious amount of Johnson's Baby Powder on our infant's behinds? Some have said the talc in baby powder is so refined that there is no asbestos and no danger from breathing. I have been using it as a mold release for vacuum forming since 1981. I have asthma and have never had any asthma attacks induced by using baby powder. Does anyone have any definitive information?

Here is a link to an article from the American Cancer Society:
ACS :: Talcum Powder and Cancer

It says that all talc powder manufactured after (1973?) was required to be asbestos free. Research has shown this asbestos-less talc to cause cause cancer in some rodent species, but not others. There has been some evidence to suggest that it may cause ovarian cancer, but this could be linked to the way in which it was used. "A prospective study (considered to generally be the most informative) published in 2000 found no effect on ovarian cancer overall but a 40% increase risk in one type – invasive serous cancers." There is no evidence suggesting an increased lung cancer risk. "Until additional information is available about the safety of talc use, people who use powder may wish to consider avoiding these products or substituting cornstarch-based powders that contain no talc. There is no evidence at present linking cornstarch powders with any form of cancer."

Okay... I did some quick googling and stopped because I found about a million pages about people EATING baby powder. This is kind of scary... really scary. Google Baby powder dangerous or something if you feel like getting creeped out. I mean really... baby poweder isn't food... that's just scary.