Video cue application for theatre (windows)

bindinn

Hello,

I've been working on theatre productions for several years but have tended to adapt programs to meet my needs, rather than using specifically designed applications. However, I'm about to start work on a production that is particularly video heavy and need to track down a program that I can use to cue and trigger several video clips. The clips have all been edited and all I need from the program is the ability to trigger clips and insert a blank/black screen in between.

However, there are some complications. I am also cuing audio and my preferred program is Ableton Live. I don't necessarily have the time to learn a new program before the rehearsals begin and ideally I would like to be able to run Ableton and the video cue program simultaneously, cueing the video using key commands or a USB trigger and sending a clean video output whilst having Ableton on my monitor - is this possible? My computer should be able to handle the workload reasonably comfortably and so my question is just whether anyone has found themselves in a similar situation and how it has been resolved.

Alternatively, I could move the video on to another computer, but I am working on windows the only other computer I have available is a Mac, which means that the video cue program would need to work across both platforms, and I would need to be able to transfer the whole project from one compute to another.

Thank you for your patience in reading this far and for any suggestions you might be able to offer. Please ask if you need anything clarified, or need any more information.

Best,

Ben.

I've used Multiplay for a combination of audio and video. Worked well for my purposes and it's free.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

You say you have a Mac available, right?

QLab is a widely-used and very easy program for cuing both audio and video on a Mac. See figure53.com