Loudspeakers Where to learn about concert sound?

scott407

I own a stage decking company in Central Florida with a 4,500sqft warehouse, but don't handle any significant sound. I'm trying to figure out where the best place/book is to start learning outdoor concert sound engineering for bands/DJs and what gear to buy? I have basic knowledge of sound as a DJ for the past 15 years, but that's not much experience when your speakers are self powered. I'm looking to buy a mobile trailer stage 16x24 (marshal austin) or 20x22 (StageMobil L) with a roof system that I can hang speaker arrays from and would like to know what it would take to provide sound for 1,000 to 2,000+ people at a time. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Merge with an audio company or hire a seasoned engineer and pay him well. Filling audio riders with that size as act is not something a book will teach you. Its also not going to be cheap. 300k is a starting point for a Foh pa, monitor rig, interconnect, and mic inventory.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

+1 for Footer's advice.
For a basic guide the classic starting point is:
The Sound Reinforcement Handbook: Gary Davis, Ralph Jones: 0073999009644: Amazon.com: Books
There are two well respected forums you might want to take a look at:
Pro Sound Web
Sound Forums Network - The Front Page
Both of these are by professionals for professionals and both require you post using your real name. They both also cover everything from A list touring to weekend warriors. If you really want to learn, invest some time just reading the posts.
Another stage you might consider is:
Mobile Stages | Mobile Stage | Trailer Stage | Drum Riser | Concert Stage | Trailer Stages | Stage Decks | Event Stages