Congo (cobalt) effects

dreamist

Hey gang..

I just purchased a Congo Kid (running Cobalt software) for my theatre, and I'm new to Congo programming.. I'm still figuring my way around the console (particularly how to avoid needing to reach for the mouse all the time), and there have definitely been some head scratcher moments so far, but I'm excited about learning to be faster and more productive on the console..

One thing I bumped into the other day that I just plain don't understand is how the console deals with dynamic effects -- in particular, how to stop them.

I needed to make some LED movers flash/strobe, so I reached over to the dynamic effects templates and grabbed a color change template and also the Strobe template (so, two dyn effects, one messing with color and one messing with intensity). I got the effect looking the way I wanted in the preset I was working on, recorded the preset, and then hit GO to get to my next preset in my main sequence (the next look had already been recorded). With what I am reading in the manual, my understanding was that the dynamic effects I had recorded in the previous preset should be stopped since they did not exist in the next preset which was being faded in..

What I found instead is that the color dynamic effect did indeed stop, but the intensity dynamic effect (strobe) continued. Worse, even if I specifically stopped the effect (CH & DYN_EFFECT followed by C & DYN_EFFECT) and updated the preset, it would not fix the issue.. The effect did indeed stop on the stage, and it seemed to record my update, but when I step through the sequence again, the intensity effect still ends up continuing to run even in the preset where I don't want it.

I didn't find a solution to this, and ended up giving up on the intensity effect and just keeping the color effect.

I'm assuming that I'm thinking about how to do this wrong, and was hoping someone with a lot more congo/cobalt experience could help me adjust my brain..

Thanks!

Joe