Elation ELAR PAR 108 RGBW

U.V.

Hello, long-time lurker, first-time poster here! :)

I am looking to rent some color-changing LEDs to side-light a dance show (as shins). The only thing I can get with my budget and time are some ELAR pars with a 40 degree diffusion. I am concerned that they will not provide enough 'punch' with a throw of about 20-24' (I have four bays with about 6-8' between them). (In the past, I just used 1 Kw fresnels and they worked very well). I will also have conventionals (575-S4 lekos) as high sides and tips, so I'm also concerned with these washing out some of the more saturated colors of the LEDs.

I am wondering if anyone has experience with this particular type of fixture, or can offer me any other advice. Basically, I am somewhat new to LED lighting, I have only used color-changers as cyc lights before. Thanks very much!

U.V.

If you're talking about the Elation diffusion that comes with the units, I'd be careful. I have sixty of these in my rental stock and love them, but that diffusion is worthless if you're shooting more than about 10-12 feet. I would see if you can dig up some other diffusion, or even try gel diffusion. I never got around to trying it in my units, so it may or may not work out for you.

Hi cbrandt, thanks for the reply! The gel diffusion sounds like a good idea; maybe even a cyc silk just to stretch the beam a bit. I will definitely need to go further than 12'; at least twice that. But I am not as concerned about illuminating the performer's faces; I just want to punch in some saturated colors. It might be kind of a cool look to have the colors coming in from both sides and then fade towards center, come to think of it.