ETC Nomad programing tips

TheBroomCloset

Hey y'all, I have a decent amount of experience installing lights and doing the manual work, but as far as programming goes I'm almost entirely self taught. Looking for tips on how to be more efficient with my programming. Our shows are run off of a Nomad running Ion software on my laptop. The specific thing that's annoying me is as follows; say I've got channel 1 and 2 at full, and I record that as cue 1. I then add channel 3 at full, then record that look as cue 2. Later on in the show the director decides that they want a blackout to happen between cues 1 and 2, so I set channels 1-3 at out, then I record that as cue 1.5. But now when I pull up cue 2, I find that channels 1 and 2 are now still out and only channel 3 comes up. I understand the logic that the software is doing when the situation happens, but I was wondering if there was a more efficient way I could go about things so that when I need to add cues in between already existing cues the cues after it won't be affected.

Thanks for any help!

This sounds like tracking is on. It is a very powerful tool but can trip you up when trying to do this sort of thing.

Heres a video talking about it, and a white paper from ETC:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

You can disable this in the setting and change the console to cue only, this will let you do what you were expecting, and if you ever feel like chnaging to tracking, its very easy to swap back.

… or press QOnly before pressing enter when inserting a cue into a list if you want to restrict change to the current cue. Just remember every cue is an instruction to change something. The thru key is also useful when applying an update to a range of cues.