Software: WYSIWYG

T1NM4N

I am currently a grad student and I have a year left in my program. I have become accustomed to working with WYSIWYG as my main lighting program. We have a 10 seat Dongle in our design lab so I have had to come to the school to do any work I needed but that wasn't a huge issues. Obviously, when I leave, I won't have access to this program without spending a ridiculous amount of money that I may not have when I leave. Do I abandon the program all together? I'm not a huge fan of Vectorworks for lighting design and I'm definitely not as skilled with it as I am with WYG.

Thoughts?

Obviously, when I leave, I won't have access to this program without spending a ridiculous amount of money that I may not have when I leave. Do I abandon the program all together?
I'm not sure what you're asking. If you can't afford it, and/or can't get someone else to pay for it, you can't use it.

Are you using WYSIWYG for its plot/paperwork generation abilities, as a visualizer, or both? There are lots of less-expensive (albeit most not as full-featured) alternatives in both categories.

I guess I'm trying to find out whether or not I should abandon the program all together and try to learn/relearn something else. WYG is so easy for me to work in and I feel like it flows better as a lighting program than Spotlight. Do I just give that up though because it isn't available to me once I leave? Have I just been wasting all my time on a program that I won't for sure have in the future?

I've been a long time WYG user simply because it is what I have. My copy is long expired but still works for what I need it to do. Vectorworks spotlight is 2600 bucks. You can get a copy of WYSIWYG Report that only does the 2d paperwork (gives you everything but Design and Perform tabs) for 899. I really need to just rip off the band-aid and move to vectorworks but I don't have the time to learn and really don't do enough drafting for it to matter.