a zig zagging platform.

hello,

new visitor and first time poster here. i'm a volunteer set builder for our church's theater production. we are putting on a musical show in a couple of months and the director has approached me about building a set. i've been reading like crazy here on the forum and had a question about building a raised platform.

the first version of the set design has an elevated platform that sort of zig-zags across the stage. it's probably about 30 feet long, with each zig or zag being about 6-8ft long (i'm not exactly sure of the angles at each bend yet, but probably 30-45 degrees). but the fact that the platform isn't straight means that the std rectangular shaped platforms may not work very well. i could use them but only if i attach triangle shaped platforms to fill in between the zigs and zags.

so i'm wondering about the best to build this contraption. i liked some of the posts on bulilding platforms and setting them on stud walls (we did that last year for a straight 4'x16' elevated platform). but everything i've seen so far in the forum (really like gafftaper's system) seems to have nice right angles to them.......the zig-zag has me thrown.

can triscuits be done in triangles or parallelogram shapes?

thx in advance.

richard

Yes, the best (In my opinion, of course) way to do this will be to use rectangular platforms in whatever nice even size you want and then to build custom shapes to fill in the angles. Personally, I prefer traditional platforms for weird shapes just because they are easier to knock out quickly and you probably won't ever reuse them, but if you already have some triscuits and want to add to that inventory, it is possible to build stressed-skin fillers, though depending on your studwall/legging arrangement, you may find it beneficial to use a hybrid - stressed skins for the rectangles and traditional platforms for the triangles.