Advice on best output settings for custom video content

MichSuS

Hi there-
I am creating a library of custom media content to have on hand for use in future designs. Some of it is stuff that i've created solely in Photoshop/After Effects, and some of it is based on live footage i've taken with my camera.
Although i've been using media servers for a good few years now, i'm a little new to the content creation side and would love to get some advice on the best export settings to maximise compatibility with different systems, keep file sizes reasonable, and make crisp, great looking final output.
I know that in a perfect world you'd want to have pixel to pixel content sized for the screen you're using, but as this is just a general use library of my own stock content, i want to make it as universal as possible for use on Catalyst and other media servers. I shot some of the camera stuff in 1280 x 720 (60fps) and some in 1920 x 1080 (30fps) and use the film and video preset for HDTV 1080p/29.97 in photoshop for the animated stuff. Since a lot of what i've been making is pretty simple and will likely be played back on LED screens, i was wondering if there's an advantage to keeping it all in the highest HD form or not really- the files are large!