Automated Fixtures Apollo Scrollers take a long time

Gibby

Hey. I'm a high school lighting manager looking for an answer to a problem for the past 4 productions. I have a set of 10 Appollo scrollers powered by an appropriately matched wattage wise power supply that have not worked correctly for the past few shows. When changing them all together from the first color to the last I need to give them 12 or more seconds of fade time, otherwise they go through the same process as when you first turn them on after which a few are not on the appropriate color and then I need to turn them off and back on manually which requires a run to the catwalk which I have to do whenever I take them into manual control with a fader because the slightest bump sets them off. Twice I reran every single scroller cable with a new one and they worked PERFECTLY. I came in the next day and they were seemingly worse than ever. If anyone has an answer or suggestion I would love to hear it. Thank you very much.

Hello! First, what console are you using? Secondly, what model of Apollo Scroller? Third, what model of power supply.

Next, are they all run on one single chain? If so, you shouldn't do that with ten. The voltage drop is too great over that number (you can sometimes accomplish it, but not always). Do you have the reset DMX channel on? Is it inadvertently patched thus causing them to reset when that channel hits full?

Scott beat me somewhat, also. Like he said. Is the line terminated back to the PSU? Also, power supplies are not designed for dimmed power if you have it on it. Even set to non-dim, dimmers don't provide power in the same way that your standard outlet or relay does.

Hello! First, what console are you using? Secondly, what model of Apollo Scroller? Third, what model of power supply.