Loudspeakers Backing tracks only to monitor?

NewBldg1

Hello- I apologize is this isn't in the correct forum or has otherwise not been posted properly. I've been searching for a few days now and can't find the answer to my question. I am a middle school theatre teacher with very little tech experience. The program is 3 years old and has peanuts for a "budget". Shows are in the cafetorium. Our combined sound equipment is worth less than $1000.00.. Despite this, there have been complaints and pressure because the music for our shows has been too loud and at times drowned out the vocals. At the same time, my cast complains that they can't hear the performance tracks (we don't have live music), and indeed they do get behind in both vocals and choreography from time to time. Speakers are next to the "stage." We are using GTD wireless mics. I have a little more money to spend this year, so I wanted to get a stage monitor; however, I have read that you should have music only (no mics) sent to the stage monitor, and my question is: how? The source of the performance tracks is my Mac, and I have been using a 1/4 to XLR from the mac to the 4 channel mixer. So, do I use a 1/4 inch to 2 XLR splitter? I have been approved to purchase a new mixer (Rockville RMP1870) but I am such a novice that I don't know if mixers can actually perform the function I'm looking for. I noticed some more expensive mixers- like the Yamaha MG20- have specific monitor outputs, but I'm not sure that would work. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!