Best Programs to Create Lighting Plots?

arogue

Hello, I am a student studying lighting design and I am curious, what are peoples favorite programs to create light plots? I have seen different styles, is there anyone that is hands down the best?

Hi Arogue

1) - Do a search here on CB under "CAD", "Vectorworks", "Lightwright", "WYSIWYG", "AutoCAD" and "LD Assistant"

Lot's of useful info as to peoples experiences with the assorted programs, which are:

- CAST WYSIWYG: All in one program for pre-viz (maybe the best program for this), as well as paperwork generation, including plots.
- Vectorworks: CAD program, Spotlight is the entertainment lighting version. FREE for college students as a one year license.
- Lightwright: The paperwork (hookups, instrument schedules, color orders, error checking). Discounted for students and cost effective to upgrade to the full blown version. has a semi painless integration with VW.
- LD Assistant: Another well thought of stand-alone all-in-one program.
- AutoCAD: The most popular for folks having to generate shop drawings (scenic) and/or needing to work with architects and consultants.