Dissecting Colortran 5/50....

Doug Lowthian

So I'm about to start dismantling and cleaning a bunch of 30 yr old Colortran 5/50 ellipsoidals which, I believe, have never been cleaned, ever. I have the manual with the exploded parts diagram to work with.

Any bits of advice? I'm a rank newbie but I know a screwdriver from a wrench...

Definitely take pictures as you go so you know how to put them back together. It will probably take two passes at cleaning the lenses if there is a covering of dust, grime, &c baked on. First try with 99% rubbing alcohol, then use a window cleaner (or better, Brillianize) for the second pass and a streak-free finish. For the reflector, try not to put too much elbow grease in to it, as it can remove the reflective coating on the reflector depending on what it is. Make sure your work area is well lit.

Ditto sound lights comment

Get cheap spray bottles and cotton rags, rubbing alcohol and Simple Green or equivalent.

The front lens tube comes out of the fixture (I believe), then if a single lens, just clean both sides, if 2 lenses, crack open the lens tube. Pay attention to how it all comes apart !

We dilute the alcohol with water, use cotton , clean outside of fixture with SG diluted 50/50 with water.

Check lamp type, make sure it's what it's supposed to be for your use. Check strain relief on the connector.

Then bench focus while pointed at the cyc or something (white wall). I built a bunch of these wooden stands years ago to support the unit while on a table.

Attachments

• IMG_1180.JPG
    IMG_1180.JPG
    131.5 KB · Views: 177
Out of grad school I worked in a theatre and there were maybe 150. There are a lot of parts - little rubber clips around lenses, "donuts", and other hardware. I seem to recall several parts to just the slider. All easy to sort out but just lots. And these are real gel burners in the shorter focal lengths.

Thanks all; good idea about photos as it comes apart.