Does a short throw projector exist for this size?

MercyTech

Hi all,
We have budgeted for new projector, and I would love to move it inside the main curtain, and above the actors so that it does not project through them during the performances, especially for the dancers.
I would need it to be mounted approximately 25' above the stage, and 25' from the cyc, which is about 50' wide. Is there an existing projector/lens setup for this short and wide of a throw?
Thanks,
Tim

I'm no expert on projection either, but you can do this with one projector. However you are going to need a great deal of keystoning to compensate for such a sharp angle. You can do this without hitting the actors as long as they are around 7-10ft downstage of the cyc, however they should be downstage anyway to avoid spill on your cyc. I'll let other recommend specific projector models, but its not going to be cheap. You are going to want something bright.

Several issues potentially involved. One is the screen or image height. You make it sound like you want to fill the 50' wide cyc and a 50' wide image would equate to a 28.125' (16:9 format), 31.25' (16:10 format), 37.5' (4:3 format) image height. That could affect both the relative location of the projector to the center and top/bottom of the image and what would be required for that one projector. You'd have to look at the relative vertical orientations and locations to make any assessment on the angles and distances involved, however any of those screen sizes would require a very high output (30,000 to 100,000 lumen or greater) projector or more likely, multiple projectors.

Also consider that the projection path still goes from the projector to the bottom of the image, so while getting the projector closer to the screen and higher above the stage may help in avoiding interference from actors and sets on stage, it will not necessarily eliminate the problem.