Dracula break away daybed/couch help??

Standby

Greetings, I'm new to CB and I did post on the newbie board.

A few questons. I have to build a break away daybed/psychiatrist couch type of thing for a production of Dacula. The director wants dracula to fall off of a 45" tall platform and land on the daybed/couch and have it break into two and have blood squirt out as if coming from dracula...with a steak in his chest ofcourse..........any ideas on how to build a daybed/couch that needs to support other actors during the show and then break in two when dracula falls on it?

Build 2. I would be really hesitant to do this in a high school situation. 45" is a pretty decent fall and if he has something sticking out of his chest.... that really would concern me. A person who is qualified with stage combat/stunt training could probably pull this type of thing off... I am not sure if a high school student can. A 45" fall is in the rang of needing a real crash bag. I don't know if your going to be able to build something that will be able to decelerate him enough to make this happen safely. Added to that, I don't think that he will be able to do the fall consistently enough to make it safe.

Break away furniture works in two ways.... either you have to replace a part every night or its going to look like a cartoon. For thing, it would be possible to just get the legs to collapse or something like that, but once again the fall thing concerns me. And I just re-read... does he have to fall forward onto this couch?

...with a steak in his chest of course.........
proxy.php

Stakes Through Hearts Cartoons

What if instead of falling he kinda sinks down onto it and the legs collapse and/or it flips over? Like in movies/ tv shows sometimes where someone gets shot or stabbed and kinda sinks down?