Flying in high school

Jessie

I am producing "Peter Pan and Wendy" this fall. I don't HAVE to fly my actors, but I want to. I have almost 20 years of experience in educational theatre. As you can imagine, that experience does NOT mean I know about quality rigging and tech work! I want to learn all I can from real techies.

My question is this:

What is the best and safest way to achieve the flying effect in a high school theatre production?

I can spend up to $1,000 (or maybe a bit more) IF it will be a useful addition beyond the life of the show. I'm open to any and all ideas for achieving the effect- not limited to rigging.

Before you answer, let me assure you that safety is my first priority.

I am producing "Peter Pan and Wendy" this fall. I don't HAVE to fly my actors, but I want to. I have almost 20 years of experience in educational theatre. As you can imagine, that experience does NOT mean I know about quality rigging and tech work! I want to learn all I can from real techies.

My question is this:

What is the best and safest way to achieve the flying effect in a high school theatre production?

I can spend up to $1,000 (or maybe a bit more) IF it will be a useful addition beyond the life of the show. I'm open to any and all ideas for achieving the effect- not limited to rigging.

Before you answer, let me assure you that safety is my first priority.

Glad to hear safety comes first. The only way to do this safely is going to be call a flying professional. Foy, ZFX, D2 come to mind, I feel like Delbert on the site does things like this. There are probably a few more companies that do theatrical flying, but its the only way to do it. Its stupid and dangerous to do this type of thing yourself, as it can kill people (or malfunction in a very darkly funny way, as in this video of Peter Pan being done with on the cheap flying: ‪Peter Pan Stage Crash Fail‬‏ - YouTube)