Got "Dirty" Power?

Parker

Ok, let me start by saying this: I am by no means a certified electrician.

My theatre has what the O&M exec staff flippantly refer to as "dirty" power.
Example: every now-and-then the lights (and I mean ALL of them) briefly flicker all at once. Not enough to be an issue as far as safety, but noticeable.

I have noticed this in other theatre spaces as well... mostly other high schools.
Is this an issue at your space?
Anyone know the "real" reason why this happens?
Can anything be done to fix it (short of hiring out a complete re-wire of the entire system)?

I have seen more dimmer cards fried because of this then I can count, specificly the Johnson System's CD-80 Retrofit kit had huge issues with this.

This can either be a problem that the buildings service is not large enough or the areas service is not large enough. It usually means that the power in the building fluctuates regularly when elevators, A/C's, heating, and other large loads come on.

I spent the summer working for a little theatre in the middle of nowhere Missouri. The town had 70 people living in it and a 400 seat theatre. My dimmer rack was 48 dimmers made up of CD80 packs. We had the largest service in town at 300 amps for the entire building. I could easily tell when it was middle of the day and everyone in town had their A/C's on. I could tell when the A/C in our building kicked on. I asked when I got there about adding another 24 dimmers for one show and after looking at the power situation, we could not do it. It was not that the building did not have the ability to take on another feed, it was that there was simply not enough power in the town. They would have had to add more power infrastructure to the substation to give us more power.